A Former Child Soldier 2 – The once talkative and confident female executive has changed a lot…

Satis was lying face down, motionless.

Her eyes were unfocused, as if staring into the void.

Her beautiful legs, covered in a fabric that seemed like black stockings, were heavily scarred, and her back bore marks that looked as if she had been beaten with a whip.

Her alluring, ample breasts were crushed between her own weight and the ground, spreading out sideways.

She was so weak and badly hurt that she no longer had the strength to attack or even speak.

[…What’s the meaning of this? What the heck happened to her?] (Seto)

Seto put his magic sword away in confusion.

There are no signs of enemies around.

She’s been abused so brutally she collapsed after making it this far on her own.

Which means that something happened within the Demon King’s army.

[…I need to get to the bottom of it. …I think?] (Seto)

Although he was no longer a member of the Hero’s party, he was somewhat curious as to what happened and chose to help Satis for the moment.

Still, there was also the possibility that she might take advantage of this act of kindness to hit him with a quick surprise attack.

So he carried her on his back while displaying enough caution, and started walking through the forest.

Eventually, he found a conveniently located cabin, which made for a good place to rest in spite of its simple architecture.

He laid her down on the bed, and went out to find food and water.

I still can’t let my guard down, but… I’ll have to ask Satis what happened.

An hour or so later, he finally made it back to the cabin.

Good thing I had marked the trees with my knife so I wouldn’t get lost.

[Okay. I got fish, deer meat, and water. I managed to secure some food.] (Seto)

When he opened the door, Satis had just woken up.

She was absentmindedly staring at the ceiling with vacant eyes.

[Looks like you’ve woken up.] (Seto)

He put his haul on the floor and called out to her, then she looked his way.

Right after that, she jumped out of the bed as if startled.

[KYAAAAHH…!?] (Satis)

Interpreting it as hostile behavior, Seto immediately drew his knife and pointed the tip at her.

[Don’t move!] (Seto)

Once again, the tension in the room was high.

However, Satis was acting strange.

She was shaking and clutching her comforter in a frightened manner.

[Don’t do this… No more… Please… spare me… Stop…!] (Satis)

He felt a sense of déjà vu in the way Satis muttered weakly.

She was like a child soldier whose mind had been broken on the battlefield.

Just like them, Satis’ mind had been completely broken.

She doesn’t seem to have any hostile intent, but there’s no telling what she might do without warning.

For the time being, he put his knife back into the sheath on his thigh, and tried to pacify her.

[Alright, I won’t do anything. So please calm down…] (Seto)

[No… No…!] (Satis)

[Oh, come on… Fine. Then how about this?] (Seto)

What Seto used was a large square table that was nearby.

He turned it on the side like a barricade, and hid behind it.

He addressed her while peeking out a little bit.

[Not seeing me entirely should put you at ease, right?] (Seto)

Satis was momentarily taken aback by his strange behavior, but she managed to regain her composure.

Still, the terror in her eyes remained.

[*Huff*… *Huff*… You’re that boy from the Hero’s party… aren’t you?] (Satis)

[I am.] (Seto)

[Did you trap me so you could kill me?] (Satis)

[Do you think I have the brains for that? Even tricking you is impossible for me.] (Seto)

The two of them were conversing over the table.

[…What are you doing here?] (Satis)

[Does it really matter? I mean, I’m… no longer a member of the Hero’s party.] (Seto)

[Eh…?] (Satis)

Satis muttered with a surprised look on her face.

The boy may have indeed been a dolt, but he was a true menace in battle.

When it came to fighting, he would stand at the forefront and hack and slash with his magic sword.

Back when he was with the Hero’s party, even Satis herself was afraid of his onslaught. But…

[Some stuff happened… What about you?] (Seto)

[I… I’m…] (Satis)

Satis hung her head down and fell silent, as if she did not want to talk about it.

She was always so talkative and full of energy when hurling verbal abuse at him, but even Seto lost his bearings from seeing her so depressed.

In any case, Satis was now utterly helpless.

Though she was so gifted in magic, her body was now almost devoid of mana.

[Hey… You want some food?] (Seto)

[No, thanks.] (Satis)

After that, she laid back down and fell asleep with the comforter covering her whole body.

Unable to ask her any more questions, Seto had no choice but to eat today’s food by himself.

[…Well, guess I should make a fire.] (Seto)

I’ll start with fish.

He grilled it and ate it.

Next was deer meat.

This stuff is good.

Grilled fish and grilled deer meat. It was all grilled food, but it filled his stomach and his heart.

[Whew, I’m full. I’ll save the rest for later. …But I’ll still have to go hunting again.] (Seto)

Day 1 at the cabin.

The two of them did not talk to each other until nightfall.


If you liked my translations, please consider donating on Paypal or leave a comment.

Leave a comment